The Chevron Conservation Awards Program annually recognizes outstanding contributions to the conservation of natural resources. As the country's oldest privately sponsored-conservation awards program, the Chevron Conservation Awards have honored the environmental efforts of approximately 1,000 citizen volunteers, professionals and nonprofit Organizations over the past-43 years. This recognition has come to play an important role in motivating today's continued-dedication to the conservation of natural resources.

Created in 1954 by the late Ed Zern, a nationally recognized sportsman, humorist, author and former columnist for Field & Stream magazine, the awards program was designed to seek out and honor individuals anal groups who protect and enhance renewable natural resources. Mr. Zern's creation has been supported by four corporate sponsors over He years: American Motors (1954-1980); Gulf Oil Company (1981-1985); Chevron Corporation (1985-1996); and Times Mirror Magazines (1994-1996)

An important factor in the selection of Chevron Conservation Award honorees is their proven ability to work effectively with diverse organizations, achieving consensus and meeting difficult environmental challenges with practical solutions. Anyone is eligible to nominate the conservation efforts of an individual or an organization. Candidates are nominated in three categories: (l) Citizen Volunteer; (2) Professional; and (3) Nonprofit Organization/Public Agency. Each nomination should be accompanied by two letters of endorsement, a brief -biographical sketch and supporting materials.

Honorees are selected by an independent judging panel of distinguished conservationists, with five winners selected in each awards category for a total of 15 awards annually. Honorees receive round trip air fare and hotel accommodations for two in Washington, D.C., where they axe honored at a reception and presented with the award in- addition to a $2,000 honorarium.

How to Submit Nominations

Nomiations may for this year's program may be submitted through May 14, 1997. Anyone is eligible to nominate an individual or organization for the Chevron Conservation Awards. One of the following three categories.should be specified: (1) Citizen Volunteer - individuals whose conservation efforts are a voluntary oppression If good citizenship, (2) Professional - individuals who are career professionals, either currently employed or retired, within the conservation field; and (3) Nonprofit Organization/Public Agency ~ private sector organizations administered by volunteers and/or paid staff and public agencies organized as administrative divisions of government.

To request a nomination package with hull details of He program and an application form, fax the Chevron Conservation Awards Program at (415) 894-5447 or write:

Chevron Conservation Awards Program
575 Market Street
San Francisco, CA 94105

Nomination guidelines also require a letter profiling the candidate's qualifications and accomplishments, a brief biographical sketch of the candidate, into letters of endorsement supporting the candidate's nomination, as well as any documentation of the candidate's conservation efforts, such as newspaper or magazine articles.

Elk, Copyright Totem Graphics
6200 Capitol Blvd., Ste. F, Tumwater, WA 98501

CEP - March 27, 1997